Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Carabao Cup third round draw: Start time, ball numbers and how to follow as Premier League big guns enter

The Carabao Cup third round is an important part of the competition as it signals the arrival of the Premier League big boys.

Two of the traditional ‘big six’ in Chelsea and Tottenham entered the League Cup in the previous round after missing out on European football last year.

Man United are the current champions after beating Newcastle 2-0 in FebruaryGetty

But it’s now time for Manchester City, Arsenal, Manchester United, Newcastle, Liverpool, Brighton, West Ham and Aston Villa to enter.

United are the current champions, while Newcastle will look to go one step further and win it after finishing second last season.

City, Arsenal and Liverpool will also be eyeing this as a good chance to earn some silverware.

But Ange Postecoglou won’t be lifting the League Cup any time soon after Tottenham crashed out.

Spurs could only manage a 1-1 draw with London rivals Fulham and then lost 5-3 on penalties.

Carabao Cup third round draw: Date and start time

The draw for the third round of Carabao Cup is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, August 30.

It is due to start at around 10:15pm after the conclusion of Everton’s visit to Doncaster Rovers.

The draw will be conducted by former Sheffield Wednesday boss Darren Moore and ex-Lioness Izzy Christiansen.

Despite a goal for Richarlison, Tottenham are out of the Carabao CupGetty

Carabao Cup third round draw: TV channel and live stream

The draw will be broadcast on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Football.

Sky customers can also watch the draw through their mobile devices or laptops.

talkSPORT and will have all the best of the reaction as well.

To tune in to talkSPORT or talkSPORT 2 through the website, click HERE for the live stream.

You can also listen via the talkSPORT app, on DAB digital radio, through your smart speaker and on 1089 or 1053 AM.

Liverpool will hope they are lifting the Carabao Cup againGetty

Carabao Cup third round draw: Ball numbers

The ball numbers are yet to be confirmed but these are the teams that are in the hat.

ArsenalAston VillaBournemouthBrentfordBrightonCrystal PalaceFulhamLiverpoolLutonManchester CityManchester UnitedNewcastleWest HamWolvesCardiffIpswichLeicesterMiddlesbroughNorwichStokeExeterPeterboroughPort ValeBradfordMansfieldSalfordSuttonDoncaster / EvertonHarrogate / BlackburnNottingham Forest / BurnleySheffield United / LincolnChelsea / AFC Wimbledon

Third-round ties are set to be played the week beginning Monday, September 25.

The new talkSPORT match centre

Keep up-to-date with all the latest football fixtures, results and standings in our new match centre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *